SATAN’S FALL“Destination Destruction” Release Date:         November 3rd, 2023
Format:                     – CD digipak + 2 bonus tracks
                                  – LP, black vinyl, printed inner sleeve, double sided poster

Track Listing:
01. Lead The Way   4:46
02. Garden Of Fire   3:24
03. Swines For Slaughter    4:17
04. Monster’s Ball   6:04
05. Afterglow   3:27
06. No Gods, No Masters   4:04
07. Kill The Machine   3:33
08. Dark Star   5:37

CD Bonus Tracks:
09. Es Wird Viel Passieren (Marienhof Song)   3:36
10. Go Go Power Rangers (Power Rangers Song)   3:57

Bio / Info (English):

Satan’s Fall are definitely not the first band to hail from Helsinki who have set out on a triumphal march around half the (metal) globe. For many years, the Finnish capital on the southern tip of the country has been considered to be a melting pot for talented bands and musicians who have the stamina to survive even hard times. Satan’s Fall has overcome such a difficult phase, when after the release of their debut album ‘Final Day’ in December 2020 the pandemic made any tour plans redundant. But the five-piece surrounding vocalist Miika Kokko, guitarist Tomi Mäenpää and bass player Joni Petander hasn’t lost its idealism, quite the opposite: following a line-up change when Ville Koskinen joined in as a new lead guitarist and Arttu Hankosaari took the drummer’s seat, the Nordic quintet sounds more impressive than ever before and is set to present an even stronger second album in ‘Destination Destruction’, which features a total of eight powerful metal songs and two cover bonus tracks, performed with speed and virtuosity, brilliantly produced and infused with lots of strong melodies. The album will be available from Steamhammer/SPV on 27 October 2023 on CD, LP and for digital download, and the singles ‘Lead The Way’ and ‘Afterglow’, including videos, will be released in advance. In other words: happy days are here again for all fans of timeless classic metal!

One of the reasons is that Satan’s Fall has obviously found its own sound and cleverly embellished it with a wide range of dynamics and cross-references. “Our new album is like a roller coaster ride that sometimes goes fast, sometimes slower, never forgetting the good hooks in the process,” Tomi Mäenpää proudly enthuses, adding: “‘Destination Destruction’ also features influences from other genres such as hard rock and black metal. We don’t like to limit our music to any specific category. Heavy metal means freedom to do whatever you want to do – heavy metal is freedom!”

The lyrics on ‘Destination Destruction’ pick up more or less where ‘Final Day’ left off three years ago. They are about the abysmal depths of human existence, or as singer Miika Kokko puts it: “It’s about the decline of a civilization amidst the hubris of terrible leaders and religious beliefs, and about the people who fight back after everything seems to be almost lost. This story is told from a number of different perspectives within that conflict.”

One interesting fact remains to be mentioned, or in fact two: On the one hand, as a bonus track there’s a cover version of ‘Go Go Power Rangers’, soundtrack of the American TV series ‘Power Rangers’ and a storyline about (mostly) young people who protect the world from evil. And then there’s another bonus track – ‘Es Wird Viel Passieren’, the “Marienhof song” from the same-named German daily soap. Mäenpää: “We’ve been listening to that song for ages, whenever we’re partying or hanging out at the rehearsal room. In the nineties, the German TV series was also broadcast in Finland. That’s why we always hurried home after school, so we could listen to the theme music.”

And when will we be able to see this young up-and-coming band live on tour again? “We’re planning to play one or two gigs this year and will otherwise concentrate on promoting the album. But we’ve already started booking gigs for next spring.”

Miika Kokko – vocals
Tomi Mäenpää – guitars
Ville Koskinen – guitars
Joni Petander – bass
Arttu Hankosaari – drums

Pictures: (c) Toni Salminen