EVILDEAD “United $tate$ Of Anarchy”

Release Date:  October 30th, 2020

Format:           – CD Digipak 

                       – LP, 1 bonustrack, orange with black swirls vinyl, printed inner sleeves Tracklisting:
01. The Descending 3:12
02. Word Of God 3:04
03. Napoleon Complex 3:08
04. Greenhouse 3:59
05. Without A Cause 3:05
06. No Difference 4:20
07. Blasphemy Divine 2:57
08. A.O.P. / War Dance 5:21
09. Seed Of Doubt 5:27

LP Bonus Track:
10. Planet Claire 2020 4:03 (bonus track)

Photo taken in Pasadena and Los Angeles on 07/05/20

Bio / Info (English):
EVILDEAD was formed in 1987 with the intention to create heavy music in the thrash metal vein. EVILDEAD’s debut live appearance was on April 11, 1987 at Fender’s Ballroom in Long Beach, California on a bill that also featured Cryptic Slaughter, Dark Angel, and Possessed. Soon after the band entered the recording studio to record their classic 3-song demo; featuring the songs ‘The Awakening’,  ‘Sloe-Death’, and ‘Process: Elimination’. The EVILDEAD sound was unique; highlighting a blend of speed and thrash metal guitar riffs along with hyper drumming locked in with an over the top thundering bass with punk overtones, and lyrical themes that explored political, thought provoking social ideas; mixed with horror, and nuclear war themes.In 1988, EVILDEAD signed a worldwide recording contract with SPV Records and released the RISE ABOVE EP featuring two original tracks; along with a cover version of the Black Flag anthem ‘Rise Above’ this debut generated a strong underground buzz with lots of airplay, and media support which led to a strong fan base. In the summer of 1988, EVILDEAD entered Music Grinder recording studios with Producer/Engineer Cacey McMakin (Nuclear Assault, Kreator) to record the classic full-length album ANNIHILATION OF CIVILIZATION.In 1989 the band had some line-up changes along the way before their first successful European tour with co-headliners Laaz Rockit. In 1990 EVILDEAD returned to the recording studio with producer Warren Croyle to track their second studio album entitled THE UNDERWORLD released in 1991 to rave reviews. It attributed a more refined metal sound; featuring a cover version of the Scorpions ‘He’s A Woman, She’s A Man’ with guest appearance by vocalist and metal legend David Wayne (Metal Church). After releasing their follow up release LIVE…FROM THE DEPTHS OF THE UNDERWORLD the band disbanded in 1992 with members pursuing other projects.In 2009 after constant inquiries and demands to reform for a reunion/live appearance; EVILDEAD returned in October. The line-up featured original drummer ROB ALANIZ, along with original guitarist JUAN GARCIA, original bassist MEL SANCHEZ, and lead guitarist ALBERT GONZALES with STEVE NELSON handling the vocal duties in place of original vocalist PHIL FLORES. The band toured Europe in 2011 co-headlining shows with Sadistic Intent. This included live-appearances at “Way Of Darkness” Festival in Germany, and also “Jalometalli” festival in Finland with additional dates throughout Europe. EVILDEAD went on hiatus a short time thereafter, but returned once again this time with original vocalist PHIL FLORES, and bassist KARLOS MEDINA from THE UNDERWORLD line-up taking over bass duties. The past few years has consisted of performing select live shows to appease a new generation of fans. EVILDEAD have been hard at work with Producer Bill Metoyer on their long awaited comeback full-length studio album.In 2019 EVILDEAD secured a recording deal with SPV/Steamhammer for their upcoming release entitled UNITED $TATE$ OF ANARCHY (Release date: 30 October 2020). It will feature nine studio tracks plus a metalized cover version of the B-52’s ‘Planet Claire’ as a bonus track. Seminal artist Edward J. Repka has once again illustrated the cover of the new album, to be released on CD/digipack and colored vinyl. The band has compiled a collection of new songs that are a throwback to their roots of thrash. With UNITED $TATE$ OF ANARCHY, EVILDEAD has returned more powerful than ever and awakened again to annihilate the masses.

Line Up:
Albert Gonzales – Rhythm/Lead GuitarsJuan Garcia – Rhythm/Lead Guitars
Rob Alaniz – Drums
Phil Flores – Lead Vocals
Karlos Medina – Bass

photos (c) Alex Solca

Related Posts